5 Minute Interview: Barney Brown

28 07 2009

Barney BrownWho are you?
Barney Brown.

Where do you work and what do you do?
I work in the Office of External Affairs and Communications at the University of Cambridge. I look after the top levels of the University’s website and co-manage external digital channels (such as the University’s presence on iTunes U, Youtube and Facebook).

What are your main areas of interest?
At work: Trying to make web publishing processes better understood and easier. Trying to get the best results online that we can within budget and reason.
Out of work: Making music and films, playing with my kids.

Are you working on anything exciting at the moment?

I’m working on a new video and audio portal for the University at the moment which incorporates elements of the Steeple project. We’re also looking at how we can make our homepage more user friendly. I’m also excited about the prospect of getting the content I currenly manage into a content management system (does that make me sad?)

Have you been to IWMW before?
No.

What are you hoping to get out of the event?
See how colleagues in other institutions cope with organising masses of information online in a way which is meaningful to humans. Meet new people in similar situations. Get out of the office to do some good hard thinking!

How is it going so far?

The signage is great, I’m off to go and connect to the wireless now!

Actions

Information




